A Piece Of Me

Imploring for attention,
Not my game.
Pre-occupied on doing me,
And grateful is thy name.

Insisting on secretly doing good behind closed doors is what truly matters,
Apologetic when I’m wrong remains one of my biggest assets.
Defiant in loss is something I can’t relate to,
Unearthing positives in every loss is something we should all be adapt to.

Arrogant about my opinions,
It’s what I truly believe in.
Affectionate to a select few,
Ask the small circle I today find myself in.

Often cautious in my approach to people of the opposite sex,
Constantly fighting to expel doubt from my brains application list.
Indecisiveness for the least part has allowed great opportunities to elude me,
Indecisiveness for the most part has protected me from my destiny.
Disappointingly,
I mostly seem to find myself interested in those who show no interest in me.
Interestingly,
Those interested can surely then relate to me.
The seriousness of being out of the “game” this long often hits home every now and then in alarming fashion,
Never more so when I notice how bewildered I become when approached in a flirtatious manner.

My curiosity to dig deeper,
A trait developed from birth.
Incredulous nature,
To willingly accept that science gives all answers of our worth.
Irritated by Atheists condescending towards those who believe,
Hostile towards believers who don’t respect those who don’t believe.
Pensive in goals I’ve set out to achieve,
Anxious in my ability to cope with that which I’ve foreseen.

I find reassurance in the little good happening around the world,
That my ambitions are not in vain.
For every good deed outweighs a thousand bad,
I think I say this to help keep me sane.

If I carry on any further,
You too might question my sanity.
So I think I’ve said enough,
Just giving you a piece of me.

Written By: Matthew Taylor

Leave a Reply

