The Wall

I saw the most beautiful face the other day,
She was high up peaking over a face-brick wall.
I couldn’t reach to shake her hand,
Or understand why she was up there,
But we conversed for hours,
And when she went silent,
I would simply just stare.
Every now and then she’d disappear,
But it seemed like she enjoyed my company,
So I’d wait around for her to return,
Waiting patiently to hear her story.
I’d ask her where she went to,
And broken stories would stumble off her tongue.
I couldn’t tell if she was telling the truth,
I knew I liked her so the inconsistencies stung.
A part of me didn’t care,
Her personality left me in awe.
Another part of me did,
I feel like she needed my help,
A bigger part of me cared.
After some time she eventually leaned over,
I rushed to grab her hand,
But she quickly let go,
Telling me she was more comfortable hanging on the wall,
Somehow I began to understand.

I don’t think she knows how beautiful she is,
Or that I come in peace.
I don’t think she knows how much I care,
And that I’m not a repeat.
I don’t think she knows I want to help,
I’m not here for a midnight treat.
I just want her to know that she’s special to me,
But without her willingness,
This wall I cannot defeat.

 

Written By: Matthew Taylor

Leave a Reply

